Reviews

9.0
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.4
Comfort
9.3
Property location
8.2
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.7
Value
8.6

Reviews

    Monika
    sk

    Review score

    9.2
    14 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Catherine
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    9 April 2018

    Perfect relaxing getaway

    A bit far from everything, but owners arranged to pick us up at Hirayu bus station which made it very easy to get to the ryokan!
    The private (in our room) & public onsens, food, hospitality! Location is stunning - in the middle of mountains!
    Ksmog
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    6 April 2018
    No laundry facilities - but the staff very kindly washed and dried our son’s clothes for us. We could not for the life of us work out how the kettle in our room worked.
    AMAZING food, lovely staff, very welcoming of our toddler son. Our private outdoor onsen was awesome.
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    2 April 2018
    Not a great spot if you don't have a car and want to go for a walk, as we did before dinner. But you come for the ryokan experience, so forget about anything else and just enjoy being there.
    Wonderful. A great spot in the mountains. Incredible food. Loved having room with private outdoor bath. Such a relaxing experience. Staff so friendly.
    Chin Kien Wah
    my

    Review score

    9.6
    25 November 2017

    Onsen Getaway

    The staff Ms Miho was exceptionally helpful by giving me the detailed instructions on how to reach their Ryokan through email. She was courteous and helpful throughout my stay. The outdoor onsen was nice.
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    21 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Erhard
    ch

    Review score

    10
    16 September 2017

    perfect stay in the mountains near Takayama

    nothing
    Very friendly and helpful hosts, very good dinner and breakfast, nice ofuro and spacious room. Host drove us from and to a bus terminal nearby,saved time (bus stop in front of ryokan). 25 minutes trip only to gorgeous Kamikochi nature trails.
    fiona chilton
    gb

    Review score

    10
    27 April 2017

    Perfect Alps Retreat

    Nothing.
    We loved staying here. There is a bus stop right outside which makes it really accessible, no need for private car. The staff are all so friendly, polite and welcoming. It was quite so we got upgraded to a maisonette room which was heavenly. The outside onsen is amazing and was perfect after a day trekking in the Alps. Finally, as other reviews have said, the food is incredible. Totally worth the expense.
    Doroteboyd
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    24 April 2017

    Best ryokan in our trip

    No shower in room
    Really good staffs and meals
    jonathan
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    19 April 2017
    We stayed there for the Takayama Festival and was too far really but that's not their fault, they were very helpful in directions and buses etc.
    Lovely rooms, great onset & excellent food. Very helpful staff too, wish we could have stayed longer.
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    4 April 2017
    Lovely mountain location, incredible dinners and breakfast, the hotel Onsens
    Rebecca
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 February 2017

    A must if you're staying in Takayama or want to try a Ryokan.

    The futons take some getting used to, but if you're going for authenticity then this is the place to stay. It's also a little bit out of the way, as it takes an hour by bus from Takayama -but it's so worth it.
    The included breakfast and dinner was some of the best food we had on our trip, so much care in preperation and presentation (also vegetarian options). The outdoor ryokan was spectacular particularly when it started to snow. Last but definitely not least the staff were amazing, they really went above and beyond. This has by far been the best stay we have had in Japan. I would love to come back.
    Iiria R.
    es

    Review score

    9.2
    30 January 2017

    Great place to relax

    Nothing
    Food was excelent. The outdoor bath is very nice!
    Choong Yan
    my

    Review score

    9.2
    28 January 2017

    A memorable winter trip

    Just wonder if the dishes served during breakfast or dinner can be made into a simple menu with notes written. Also need to know which dish is to be taken first or in the sequence as we were given a whole lots of dishes on the table for dinner.
    Really appreciate the extra attention given before our arrival concerning food allergies. The ryokan was a bit far from Hirayu onsen station but the transport provided was good. Excellent dinner and it was a very memorable experience. The owner was not fluent in English but enough to understand her.
    Richard
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 November 2016

    Really good

    Staff and meals were fantastic Everybody wearing pyjamas when inside was interesting
    EvgeniRon
    il

    Review score

    10
    19 October 2016

    Great Ryokan!!

    Wow, everything.
    jaakkarin
    th

    Review score

    10
    12 October 2016
    very reasonable price for what we got. the room is comfortable, very friendly and helpful staff. the food both diner and breakfast is excellent. highly recommended.
    John
    hk

    Review score

    8.8
    12 October 2016
    Food was great and room was cozy. We like the breakfast and dinner very much. Staff was helpful as well.